Wednesday, July 7, 2010

What I'm Listening To June 25 - July 1, 2010

1. Blitzen Trapper - Destroyer of the Void (Sub Pop)

2. Seasons - Winter EP (self release)

3. Everest - On Approach (Vapor Records)

4. Fol Chen - Part II: The New December (Asthmatic Kitty)

5. Blitzen Trapper - Furr (Sub Pop)

6. Judson and Mary - In The Hands Of The Sun (self release)

7. The Henry Clay People - Somewhere On the Golden Coast (TBD Records)

8. Broken Bells - Broken Bells (Columbia Records)

9. Blitzen Trapper - Black River Killer EP (Sub Pop)

10. Pinback - Autumn of the Seraphs (Touch and Go Records)

This was Blitzen Trapper week, as I prepared for one of the most highly anticipated shows of my year, at El Rey on June 29. As a kid, you're always told not to anticipate anything too much, or you will be let down. The last five years of concert going have convinced me otherwise, that our parents were lying, again. I have seen so many shows that have exceeded these very high expectations that I don't ever try to put a damper on my enthusiasm. The album continues at number 1 for the third straight week. And their last two releases also place.

The same held true for the Pinback presents The Rob and Zach Show that I went to at Detroit Bar on July 1. I could not have had higher hopes for this show and I was not disappointed in the least. In fact it was better than I could have imagined. I was glad I had gorged myself on Autumn of the Seraphs, as they performed so much of that album in fresh new arrangements.

It's always nice to have a new recording from Seasons and Winter is one of their best efforts. Everest's On Approach is holding steady in my conscience and it's achevements remain impressive after repeated listenings.

Fol Chen has broken out a new album, Part II: The New December, on Asthmatic Kitty Records, and 'broken out' is the correct term as the album breaks out in all directions. I'm having fun trying to take it all in. I'm still charmed by the combination of innocence and world-weary wisdom Judson and Mary put into their CD, In The Hands Of The Sun.

The Henry Clay People's new one continues to grow on me and Broken Bells is so solid, I think I'll still be listening to it months down the road.


1 comment:

Steve said...


Debut Album Combines Dark and Soulful
with Unique Style of Alternative Rock

Los Angeles, CA – July 9, 2010 – Independent alternative rock artist Lee Butcher today announced the release of his debut album All in Good Time. Available for digital distribution via CD Baby and DigStation, the debut piece culminates a lifelong focus towards diverse songwriting while retaining one unified theme.

All in Good Time originally began as an intended EP of favorite songs from Lee's early years in songwriting. As tracking progressed, Lee realized he had something special and decided that a full-length album was within reach. Recording took place at Shut Up & Play in North Hills, California, and features the keys and orchestration of George Kerhulas, drums by Edward Shemansky, bass by Randy Hill and the vocals of Caitlin Kazepis.

Throughout ten winding tracks, All in Good Time shares the story and emotion of losing one’s sense of self and assumed values, while still finding light to keep hope alive. Ranging from the folk duet "The Acrobat", to the rock ballad "Brook Lang", the Doors influenced "Hey", to the ethereal chills of "Hope", the album gives emphasis to the true themes and inspiration behind Lee's message.

“It's a total 'put your money where your mouth is' situation where everything is self-financed and produced,” says Lee. “If you believe in yourself, sometimes you have to take a chance and put your work out there honestly. The whole process represents a huge step in my career as an artist and I truly believe All in Good Time is the perfect representation of where I stand as a musician. Thanks for listening."

Lee Butcher’s All in Good Time is now available via digital distribution at CD Baby and DigStation.

To sample each track from the album, please visit Lee’s MySpace page at the following link:

About Lee Bucher
Playing guitar recreationally in his teens, it wasn't until he moved from Virginia to Los Angeles for screenwriting that Lee fell in love with the art of songwriting. Lee joined the group that later would be the hard rock band OBLIQUE and cut his teeth in the Los Angeles music scene playing venues such as the Whisky A-Go-Go and The Viper Room. After the band decided to go their separate ways, Lee went into the studio and began recording his debut album All in Good Time. With influences as broad as Tool, Robert Plant & Allison Krauss, and Muddy Waters, Lee combines the dark and soulful into his own style of alternative rock.


Media Contact:

Steve Frederick
Highline PR
(310) 775-1935